President's Message

Mini Seminar

What a great turnout on the 18th of May for the free CASIU mini conference.

I am sure that everyone learned a great deal about the workings of OMVIC (Ontario Motor Vehicle Industry Council) and the OFM (Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management).

The guest speakers, Michael Rothe, Director of Legal Services for OMVIC and Clive Hubbard and Andrea Gaynor from the OFM gave interesting and detailed presentations on what they do, and perhaps more importantly, how they can assist us with our investigations going forward.

We are certain that everyone learned something new and left the seminar knowing much more than what they knew beforehand.

For those that were unable to attend, not to worry as CASIU will be holding more or these smaller seminars.

In the meanwhile, please remember that our annual Fraud Forum is coming up and so please save September 19, 2017 on your calendars for this. You can anticipate news on this very shortly.

Ezio Grasso
President CASIU

December 2016

As I begin my term as CASIU’s president, a role that I am very humbled and excited to have, I thought I’d take this opportunity to say hello, and to affirm my commitment to you, our membership.

While I am just starting my journey here as president, I have gained a number of insights during my tenure as treasurer.  I know that CASIU is committed to leading  the fight against insurance fraud. We have a rich history of creating connections between private industry, and the public sector.  I stand firmly committed to continuing and strengthening this history.

We cannot forget that CASIU is a non for profit organization that is supported by an amazing group of volunteers.  Allow me the opportunity to introduce your new board members and list of advisors.

President: Ezio Grasso, CAA Insurance Company
Vice President: Brian Smith, Desjardins General Insurance Group
Treasurer, Director of Memberships: Michael Damm, RSA
Secretary: Lindsay Hubbard, TD Insurance

Directors At Large

Angelo Miniaci, Allstate
Anna Parkosz, Insurance Bureau of Canada
Linda Liorti, Desjardins Insurance
Jeannie Catania, TD Insurance
Rakesh Sharma, TD Insurance


Chair of the Seminar Committee, Debbra Macdonald, C3 Investigations Inc.
Police Liaison, Lou Malbeuf, York Regional Police
CRC Liaison, Bob Gutwein, Accident Support Services International Ltd.
Chair of the Vendors Committee, Brian Sartorelli, Investigative Risk Management Inc.
Special Events, Russ Dow, Investigative Risk Management Inc.
Legal , Andrew T. Grayson, Regan Desjardins LLP

Past President: David Lowe, TD Insurance, Meloche Monnex
Executive Assistant / Webmaster: Silvina Stover, Nailing It Inc.

When I accepted this position, I made a commitment to ‘hit the ground listening.’ That means not only listening to the board, and advisors, but the membership at large as well.

Please keep an eye out for the 2017 membership renewal email as well as the save the date for the 2017 Fraud Conference.

I look forward to working with you!

Ezio Grasso



Copyright©2003-2017, Canadian Association of Special Investigation Units. All rights reserved.
Website designed, hosted and maintained by Nailing It Inc.